1 Comment

The Opinionator: “Rage” On Id Software

Before I get into my review of Id Software’s game, Rage, I would like to explain the titling of this review. People have complained that my reviews are purely opinion-based and they didn’t like that they were. So I decided to make a column on Gamer Codex called “The Opinionator” to give full disclosure that my reviews will be purely opinion-based. That’s how I review – it is my style, so get over it or LEAVE MY COLUMN!!

First, I will start off by saying this may be a short review because I haven’t played much of this game. It pissed me off so much with some of the bad game design choices that Id made in this game. You may call not playing the whole game before reviewing it unprofessional; however, I call that efficiency.

I will not be talking about the plot at all in this review other than say that I didn’t have any clue what was going on in the plot for the short time that I played it. I could probably sum the plot up with the following: those people are bad, here is a gun, shoot the bad people. Rage is an alright game; however, being someone who writes stories (and is working on a book), if the plot is uninteresting or I can’t understand it, the game won’t be as fun for me.

The game is very pretty with beautifully designed terrain, enemies and guns as well. One of the little things I noticed that I liked a lot was whenever you pick up a new gun your character examines it, which shows of the art detail.

Now, let’s talk shittiness. My first big gripe is that checkpoints are rare, as well as from what I can see, there is no autosave. If I am playing a game where I can go and do tons of stuff without remembering to save, I want an autosave feature. I don’t want to have to redo a lot of shit if I die.

Next, how many games can you name where your vehicle’s guns can run out of ammo? SHUT UP AND PUT YOUR HAND DOWN – THAT WAS A RHETORICAL QUESTION! Exactly, none, because it’s stupid. Sure, it’s more realistic, but I play games to get away from realism, not more into it.

This game is trying to bring realism into a game set in a post apocalyptic world set in the 2100’s – yeah, that makes sense. This is a game. Games are fun and yes, Rage was fun until all the bullshit came into play. Also, there are random robots floating around that you can run into and destroy. However, the game completely forgets to explain WHY I SHOULD CARE.

Rage was actually set up as a good game for the first 30 minutes, but after that it goes to shit and I’m glad I only paid $20 for it in the bargain bin at Wal-Mart. If all the things I hated seem awesome to you, then congratulations, I am an idiot and I disassociate myself from people like you.

Have a nice day.

~Matt Tennant, WorldofTomorrowInc

One comment on “The Opinionator: “Rage” On Id Software

  1. Linear FPS games have restricted mobility by design, these guys managed to make a semi-open world FPS game but I never felt this confined in any FPS game ever. Invisible walls even over most obvious obstacles, point A to B gameplay on steroids. Even Wolfenstein 3D is more liberating than this. I never expected this.

Leave a Reply

